Be Ready!

Luke 21:29-35 (The Message)  “He told them a story. “Look at a fig tree. Any tree for that matter. When the leaves begin to show one look tells you that summer is right around the corner.  The same here – when you see these things happen you know God’s kingdom is about here.  Don’t brush this off.  I’m not just saying this for some future generation but for this one, too – these things will  happen. Sky and earth will wear out, my words won’t wear out.

This date, December 11, according to my life, is always pregnant with promises for getting and being “ready” as this was the day I was born from my mother’s womb.  My mother and father told me that my birth was anticipated and awaited.  That they arranged to be at an osteopath hospital with an osteopathic practitioner.  My father’s account always remained close to my heart  as he reported, “You were they only one of all 5 of our children that I was able and invited to be present during your birth.” As the “little Esther” in his telling of this, I felt loved and cared for. I was ready to be born and my parents were not able to brush off the event!
Luke 21: 36- 38  MORE from the same source:

Continuing in this gospel, Jesus speaks of  “But be on your guard. Don’t let the sharp edge of  your expectation get dulled by parties and drinking, and shopping.  Otherwise that day is going to take you by complete surprise, spring on you suddenly like a trap, for its going to come on everyone, everywhere, all at once.  So, whatever you do, don’t go to sleep at the switch.  Pray constantly that you  will have the strength and wits to make it through everything that’s coming and end up on  your feet before the Son of Man. He spent his days in the Temple teaching but his nights out on the Mountain called Olives.  All the  people were up at the crack of dawn to come to the Temple and listen to him”

What does this mean?  I would say hold onto your heart and stay grounded.  As parents, as children, as humans,  go to the center of our beings so that we are not blown by the winds.  So that we do not lose our selves and centers! In this basking and knowing of love we can face the day – the moment- and BE READY!

This entry was posted in Advent. Bookmark the permalink.