Know Peace or No Peace?

Psalm 40

Do not withhold your mercy from me, Lord;
may your love and faithfulness always protect me.
For troubles without number surround me;
my sins have overtaken me, and I cannot see.
They are more than the hairs of my head,
and my heart fails within me.
Be pleased to save me, Lord;
come quickly, Lord, to help me.

Sometimes, life seems a bit much. Shootings, sorrows, we run at a slow boil. And some days, it just seems to explode. God bless those people in the way of the eruption.

Today, if you can, just forgive the foibles of the people around you. If someone has exploded and you’ve been hit with shrapnel, just chalk it up to a bad day and don’t give it another thought. If someone flips you off in traffic, say a little prayer for them that their day gets better. If someone hurts your feelings, remind yourself that they didn’t mean it.

Because all of us have troubles that are surrounding us. All of us have sins that seem to be running the show. And all of us need understanding.

~Lia Scholl

This entry was posted in Advent. Bookmark the permalink.